Chosen and Loved

girl-797837_640

For the past several weeks I have been reading through the book of Romans. Through reading it, rereading it, and copying down passages I have been learning one main thing: I see so clearly that I am loved so much that the God of the universe made a way for me to spend eternity with Him.

Through the Law given to Moses in the Old Testament I fall flat on my face. Worse, I am completely dead in my sins (Eph. 2:5). But out of overwhelming compassion, God scooped me up…. bloody, wretched, filthy sinner that I was – dead – and breathed life in me through salvation in Jesus Christ and said, “I choose you.” This makes me weak at the knees. I cannot possibly put into words what it feels like in that moment when it really sinks in how hopeless my situation as a sinner was before God made me His child – His heir (Rom. 8:17). I went from guilty sinner to justified child of God. God personally chose me to be one of His and gave my life meaning and purpose.

You want to know what is so incredible? The fact that God made galaxies and oceans, two things that scientists have been studying and mesmerized with for hundreds of years; two things that gloriously show the handiwork of their creator God and boast of His name, but yet He looked at me and said, “I love you more”. That is even more than incredible, it’s indescribably wonderful.

I am loved and am chosen by a phenomenal God.

This blog post isn’t meant to be long or really thought-provoking. It serves only one purpose: to tell of the goodness of the God I love and live for. I have become overwhelmed so many times lately by God revealing His grace and sovereignty in my life that I physically cannot hold it in any longer. This is simply me sharing with you all how much I know I don’t deserve the love of my heavenly Father, but that I am so grateful that I have been chose by Him and passionately loved by Him and how I know that I have purpose and meaning because of Him.

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew, then to the Gentile.” –Romans 1:16

One thought on “Chosen and Loved

Leave a comment