What I Want to have on Hand at the Convention

For many people the summertime is just about as good as it gets with beach trips, cook outs, bonfires, s’mores, and starry nights. For homeschoolers, this is still true – but with one thing more: homeschool conventions! If you’re a native Virginian (or even live in the surrounding states) HEAV’s Homeschool Convention is one that makes the “don’t miss” list.

I have been attending the HEAV convention for a few years now (my parents going for many years) and each year there are a few things I have found that would have been a good idea to bring. Some things I have brought, some things I wish I had. So I want to share with you some things that I definitely want to have on hand this year at convention!

 

–          Shoe inserts. This one might label me as old lady, but I just have to invest in some Dr. Scholls this year to help me get through three days of pretty much constant standing and walking on that concrete floor at the convention. My feet get so sore that I think it’s worth it.

–          Peppermint & Lavender Essential Oils. I really cannot go anywhere anymore without my essential oils. And it’s pretty much inevitable that my feet will still get sore each day even if I do get shoe inserts. So I will be bringing these oils to soak my feet in each night after walking around all day long (but, hey, my Fitbit will rack up some high stepping)! I will probably bring my PanAway essential oil as well as it works wonders for aches and pains!

–          Premade address labels. There will be mailing lists galore and oodles of drawings for us to enter.  This can add up to a lot of time! The very first year I attended, my mom told me about making address/info labels so that I could just quickly stick one on with all my contact info. It’s a small time saver, but I think it’s worth it and comes in handy. I add my address, email, and phone number. Just add any contact info you feel you would be comfortable with sharing there.

–          Tote bag. I’m not playing. I plan on bringing the biggest one I have (which is pretty big) because there are so many things that I will have to keep track of by the end of the day. Even if I don’t buy much, there are always free hand-outs everywhere…with actual interesting information, not just those slips of paper that you throw away at the next garbage bin you come across. I know many, many people get rolling crates instead of using a bag, but I don’t think I’ve reached that level…yet. 😉

–          Pen and paper. Okay, so you might be thinking, “well, duh!” But I keep a small notepad in my purse that I will be using a lot that weekend. Especially when you get into the Exhibit Hall, it is so huge in there that it will be SO easy to loose track of where a certain booth was located that you will try desperately to remember where it was. Write down the name and booth number. Problem solved!

 

This is just a small list of some of the things that I hope will be helpful tidbits to remember for the wonderful (and even a bit overwhelming) weekend ahead of you! Each year I learn something different, not just during workshops, but by just BEING there. If this is your first year, I am so excited for you to experience this wonderful event designed to equip and encourage homeschoolers along this incredibly rewarding journey! If you’re a seasoned convention-goer, what are your must-have-on-hand tips? I’d love to know!

Leave a Reply

