Where Contentment is…

Leaves.and.Laps.jpg

You don’t have to look for long on the internet to find a slew of blog posts about single Christian ladies desperate to find contentment while they wait for God’s perfect man for them to come into their life. One thing I so wish that more ladies would understand is that contentment is not something that you can just work towards.

I was talking to a fellow single Christian young lady about this once and told her that contentment just comes. I attempted for a long time to achieve it. But it was almost as if when I stopped ‘obsessing’ over it that it actually happened. It is almost even hard for me to describe because there is no time in my life where I really noticed that all of a sudden I was happy with where I was; it was gradual until all of the sudden I realized, hey, it’s been so much easier lately. There is one thing that I have to say had the biggest impact for me. And before I go on, please note that I am a wretched sinner saved by grace and I fail daily. I’m painfully far from perfect at this. However, by the mercy of God He has done a work in me and I prayerfully hope that through my experience and words someone might find encouragement in the battle they are facing right now with contentment.

I prayed that God would make me focused on Him, and His Word, and what He wants of me.  And then eventually I noticed that I didn’t have time to think about the fact that there isn’t a tall, dark, handsome cowboy knocking at the door for me just yet.

Because of this many things were laid on my heart to do, work on, and get rid of. I wanted to become passionate about serving. This was the biggest burden on my heart after I graduated high school and has become more important to me ever since. Jesus was a servant (Rom 15:8) when He came to save those who were lost and make a way for salvation to be freely given to all people (Luke 19:10); and that right there tells me that I should know, without a shadow of a doubt, that I ought to be a servant too. If you are focused on serving others, that doesn’t leave much time to think about what you want God to give you – i.e. a boyfriend/husband.

“If I then, your Lord and Master, have washed your feet; ye ought also to wash one another’s feet.” –John 13:14

There have been several times when something as small as a conversation or observation has shown me just how influential the mainstream media is to a young lady; and just how lethal it is to her health – both spiritually and physically. In a culture that fantasizes romance, it is easy for a young lady to get sucked up into the trap of discontentment when she sees how appealing love is. The songs on the radio, stories in books and magazines, and romances portrayed in movies are all things that seem harmless enough. Unfortunately, they are not. If romance through these outlets are what you are feeding yourself, that is all that you are going to think about. Paul knew this, and told the church of Philippi what to think on in stead.

And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.  Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” –Philippians 4:7-8 

It is good to know that there is instruction on what we should fill our minds with instead of the discontentment-inducing fluff provided through the entertainment industry.  Our bodies need wholesome, health-building food and so do our minds.

It’s not fun examining oneself and seeing the things that need to go. But it is crucial in the growing process of putting Christ first in life. This is another huge stepping stone to finding contentment and peace in the Lord.

I believe that true contentment for a young lady can only be found when she is running as fast a she can towards Christ and what He would have her to do. Through time dedicated in God’s Word, in fervent prayer, and in focusing on serving others, I believe that this can be found. If you’re struggling, you’re not alone! I am praying for anyone who may read this and be struggling with finding contentment. You are loved!

Leave a Reply

