You Will Get More Than You Can Handle

More.Handle

“God won’t give you more than you can handle.”  

That quote has been inspiring people for, well, I have no idea how long. It’s what we tell a sister or a friend when they are going through a difficult situation.

When they feel like they won’t make it any farther and we don’t know what else to do to comfort them we quickly say, “God won’t give you more than you can handle. Just remember that. You can make it. You can get through it.” I believed it and said it to several friends and my sisters when I was desperate to comfort them. But I look back now and realize I was lying.

If I have ever said that to you, I apologize so very much.

Because the truth is, you WILL be handed more than you can handle.

Life will be more than you can take. Conflict will arise and hurt will come from it that you won’t be able to heal from on your own. Unexpected tragedy could take place at any moment that you will be able to do nothing about. The everyday task of simply getting out of bed will become more than you can force yourself to do some days.

 

You won’t be able to handle it.

 

“I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” –John 15:5 (emphasis mine)

Nothing. There is nothing that I can do outside of Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior. I am weak and incapable. I know this to be true because of verses like John 15:5 in the Bible that tell me my human self is incapable of anything aside from the one Who created me.

If the famous phrase, “God won’t give you more than you could handle” were true, it would imply that we were able to do something without God. We would be able to handle that difficult situation. We would be able to handle the stress, the depression, the rejection, the hurting, etc. because we are strong enough. I don’t know about you, but I know I am not strong enough. God has shown me that I cannot. I believe that to be true with my whole heart; and because of the sacrifice He has made on my behalf I know that He is strong enough. Because of that I know that I need to lean on Him – my Solid Rock. If I were able to “handle it” I wouldn’t be such a terrible sinner in complete desperation for a Savior. I’d be able to save myself, because I can handle it. But as I have already said, that isn’t the case.

I believe with all of my heart that the reason God allows such tragedies and struggles into our lives is so that there is no other option but to bring our burdens back to Him. God wants to help us. He wants to save us and heal us from our grief. But if we think we can handle it, He’ll let us attempt it.

There is no possible way to, though.

I have got to fall down on my knees in surrender at the foot of the cross and LET GO of whatever is weighing me down. I have to cry out to the Lord to rescue me because I have learned that I do not possess the strength to do so myself. I am a weak child in need of her Abba Father. The Lord has been teaching me that even my faith in Him requires His own strength and not my own. I have learned that without Jesus Christ I truly am nothing. If I am truly nothing aside from Him, then I know that it is only through Him that I will ever handle anything that I encounter in life.

I find true comfort in surrender, though, because the Lord will be there for me at all times. He will pick me up out of the ashes and dust me off. No, he may not always choose to make my problems instantly vanish, because many times it is through the darkest days that we grow the closest to Jesus, but He will walk beside me the whole way through.

“My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations;  Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.  But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing. ” -James 1:2-4 

I remember when I realized that just because bad things come doesn’t mean God isn’t there with me. These “trying of my faith” times are so important in my life because they draw me closer to God through continuous prayer and studying of the Bible. I have never and will never fear that I am alone because I have the Word of God to tell me that He is always near me.

I need to live a life of joy. Verse 2 says to be joyful even when faced with terrible circumstances. What a testimony it would be if people saw me living a truly joy filled life because of my Savior. Joy doesn’t mean bad things won’t happen, or that I will always be happy, it means that I am identifying myself with Jesus even when those bad things do come.

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” –Matthew 11:28

“Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.” –Joshua 1:9

 

~

Shared at A Mama’s Story link up

One thought on “You Will Get More Than You Can Handle

  1. You speak truth, Maiya! If He didn’t ever give us more than WE could handle, then we would end up saving ourselves and not grow more and more dependent upon God. I’m sharing!!

Leave a Reply

