Early Morning Disruptions


I like waking up early each morning for several reasons, but the main reason is so I can get my quiet time (Bible reading, etc.) done before the hustle and bustle of the day begins in my rather large and noisy family.

There I am getting everything spread out on the kitchen table and preparing for a great morning in The Word and…… I hear my baby brother start to fuss, letting anyone who is awake know that he is up and ready to get out of bed. “You can’t be serious,” I think. I can feel the frustration rising. I was just getting started!

I get up and I take care of the baby. My mom could use the extra rest anyways. Raising nine children is no small task.

I am reminded of something. Maybe God intended for that morning’s time with Him to be spent through serving my little brother. I am reminded that I need to work on my attitude toward this situation now; because, Lord willing, someday I will have my own little ones who will disrupt my quiet time more often than not for a while. How I respond is important. It’s putting what I have already read and learned from the Bible into action:

Do all things without murmurings and disputings.” –Philippians 2:14

In EVERY THING give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”1 Thessalonians 5:18 (emphasis mine)

It was brought to my attention one night that this whole getting disrupted thing is something that Jesus understands. I mean, He understands absolutely everything that we go through. But it was quite comforting to know that I have the Perfect example on how to deal with disruptions – because Jesus experienced numerous disruptions during His ministry here on earth. He was constantly being disrupted. As He walked down the street with crowds of people following Him, someone would stop Him many times and ask for healing – like the blind man while Jesus was on the road to Jericho (Luke 18:35-43). Because He was always so patient when these disruptions came, beautiful things happened. The blind man could see because of Jesus’ healing power! This is just one example of many. What would happen if I chose to look at disruptions with patience and kindness? How much better would that be? It is wonderful to have Jesus as an example so that I can be encouraged in how to handle these situations that most of the time are viewed negatively. But what happens when one is washed in the blood of Christ and made new is their whole look on life needs to be Christ-like. So something that would normally be viewed as a set back, Jesus viewed as an opportunity to minister and share the light and love of His Father. That is exactly how I need to view disruptions.

Act with calm.

Act with patience.

Act with love.

Act like Christ would act.

I’m constantly reminding myself that I need to choose to look at this in a few different ways: as a training opportunity for myself in preparation for one day becoming a mother, and as a chance to let beautiful things happen through me because of the love of Christ that I hope and pray shines through me. I want to learn this lesson well so that when my own little ones wake up before I’m ready, much more often than the few times that my little siblings have done recently, I will be prepared to handle it gracefully and properly.

Not with frustration and anger. That only shows someone how much they are putting you out. But people are important. This is a hard lesson to learn. One that I think will take me a long time to learn, but it is one that is WORTH the time and effort it takes to view people and the disruptions that come with them as a positive thing – I would even dare to call it a blessing!

What disruptions are there in your life that you may need to work on seeing as being sent from God? Baby brothers waking up “too” early? Sisters needing help with school work? I hope we can learn together to view these as blessings in disguise… and even ministry opportunities, by putting aside something we hold valuable so that we might serve others.

 

~~

A Mama’s Story Link up

Time-Warp Wife Link up

One thought on “Early Morning Disruptions

  1. I also enjoyed reading your ‘Early Morning Disruptions’; I have to smile :-), it’s just life isn’t it?

    I’ve been really enjoying Colossians chapter 3 at the moment and can’t decide which verses are my favourite. Having and learning patience with siblings and treating them as the blessings who they are reminds me of verses 12-15 (NKJV) especially verses 12 and 14-15!
    12 Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; 13 bearing with one another, and forgiving one another, if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do. 14 But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection. 15 And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful.

    I’ve also found for myself that aiming at an earlier bedtime and a more regular time for getting to bed (I love to be a night owl if I get half a chance) is helpful because I can aim to do bible & prayer before I go to bed and I get to do it in the morning too if I get a chance. This is working really well for me (I don’t know why it took me so long to think of doing it this way). I’ve started doing both that way if I skip one I’m still getting it in. When my little brother was younger I sometimes read the bible to him too (not the same as having a time to pray on your own) but that way he got to do bible in the morning with me. He now listens to a bible CD in the morning for his own devotions and his reading will soon be of the level that he will be reading the bible on his own.

Leave a Reply

