Get Excited about 2015 HEAV Convention! Volunteering

The HEAV Homeschool Convention is such a large event and requires all hands on deck. With so much that the convention has to offer, one could stand in the midst of it and think, “Wow! How do they pull it all off?” Well, with a lot of prayer and determination! …and many, many volunteers. HEAV needs over 600 volunteers each year to help them run this three day weekend packed full of encouragement and resources to help equip, encourage, and prepare Virginia’s homeschool families for their journey.

 

I am excited that I get the opportunity this year to help HEAV by volunteering at the convention with some of my family! I hope that, if you plan on attending this year’s convention, you would also consider volunteering and helping HEAV make this weekend a blessing to so many!

 

You might wonder what goes in to volunteering. What to expect? With so many things that take place at the convention, you are sure to find something that is right up your alley; from stacking books in the Used Curriculum Sale, to being a counselor who answers homeschooling questions, there is something that you can do to bless and help during the weekend.

 

I had the privilege of asking some questions to a few ladies who have volunteered at the convention in previous years and am honored to not only share their responses with you all, but also learn myself as this will be my first time volunteering. Here are some of their answers!

 

I interviewed people who volunteered from only one year to many, many years! Hearing their answers was so wonderful and has made me so excited to be a first-time volunteer this year!

 

Why did you start volunteering?

 “I had considered it even before graduating, but after that just felt like the right time. HEAV is such a great organization, and I wanted to help them help people with something I’m passionate about!” –Caroline

 

Is there something exciting and different about volunteering each year, or is it relatively the same and you know what to expect?

“It’s always different! Every year you meet and talk to a new group of people. I’ve volunteered in a difference section for each of the past four years, so that has also added some extra variety!” –Caroline

 

What is your favorite part about volunteering?

“Getting to know the kids and hanging out with my friends.” –Alex

“I think I’d have to say that my favorite part is getting to support HEAV, and home educating in general! I’ve gone to the convention for probably ten years now, at least, and now that I’m older I like to help out where I can, and do my part to help things run more smoothly!” -Caroline

 

Do you have a favorite memory? An encouraging moment from your time volunteering?

“We have lots of memories through the years.  As we first began, our kids rode in our red wagon.  Now that they are older, they help pull the wagon.  It is usually full of books to sell on opening day of the UCS & full of purchases made by the time we leave.” –Diane

 

Do you like to volunteer with friends and family or do you like to take this opportunity to make new friends?

“I had a great time volunteering with my friends and family and also met a new one whom I’ve kept in touch with.” –Alex

 

Would you encourage others to volunteer at the HEAV convention if they had the opportunity to? Why?

“I encourage other families to think about doing it too.  We all need to think about what we are teaching our kids in the area of service & to do it with cheerful, happy hearts.  I think of Colossians 3: 23 & Ephesians 6:7 , that we are ‘serving the LORD.’” –Diane

 “Yes, absolutely! I think it is a great way to encourage and support families who homeschool, or are considering homeschooling! A lot of people are needed to make a conference of this size run smoothly!” –Caroline

 

(Trying new things is always a good way to also learn new things) Is there anything you have learned during your time as a volunteer?

“I definitely learned about feeling a sense of self accomplishment at the end of a long day. The entire experience, while it might be exhausting, was lots of fun. I’m gald that I was able to volunteer and that I get to do so again this year.” –Alex

 

 ~

 

“I was so surprised to find out a couple of years ago that there were faithful prayer warriors who were praying during the convention!  One year I was a hostess at a booth & was so excited to hear them open the exhibit hall in prayer!  Folks, we are so blessed to have an opportunity like this & the freedom to come together for the sake of our children & the future generation.  

 As parents it is our responsibility to teach our children about the LORD.  Deuteronomy 6 is a passage for us to implement as we serve Him by helping others teach their children.  To GOD be the glory!” –Diane

 

 

I have been so blessed by reading the replies I have gotten from these volunteers and they make me so excited for my chance to volunteer at the convention! I hope that if you plan on going this year, you will consider volunteering two (or more!) hours to help out with this huge event!

Have you volunteered before? Share in the comments some of your favorite memoires, blessings, and experiences as an HEAV Convention volunteer! I would absolutely love to hear from you!

 

 

 _________________

_______

 

Don’t forget about my giveaway this week!!! One family will be blessed with a full family pass to this year’s HEAV Homeschool convention in Richmond, VA! Enter now for your chance to win! I will announce the winner Monday morning.
3 thoughts on “Get Excited about 2015 HEAV Convention! Volunteering

  1. Love this post! What a creative way to encourage others to volunteer. It was great to hear about how others enjoy volunteering. Can’t wait to volunteer again this year! See you there! 🙂

  2. This is great, Maiya! I know how much more we get out of the convention by volunteering alongside fellow homeschoolers and being “part of the team.” I love hearing what others have to say about it. Thanks for posting!

  3. We look forward to the convention every year. we have been going for many, many years. I’ve homeschooled for over 20 years and still learn and gain encouragement at the convention. Last year was the first year I volunteered. It was so much fun. Why did I wait so long? Already signed up to volunteer this year!

Leave a Reply

