HEAV Homeschool Convention… It’s for Teens and Young Adults, too!

Convention-E-mail-Header

HEAV’s (Home Educators Association of Virginia) 2015 Homeschool Convention is right around the corner!! And that should make Virginia homeschoolers very excited. This convention has provided a time of uplifting refreshment and encouragement for many weary mothers in their homeschooling journey, and helped moms who are gearing up to start their very own adventure in the homeschooling world for many, many years.

 

…and that’s where the thinking usually ends. If you are a teen/young adult you’re probably thinking, “I’m not the mom, so why go” – other than to possibly hold her shopping bags while she drools over table after table of curriculum..? (Which could actually happen. Just to let you know! Hee hee!) For many of the high schoolers who are almost done and young adults who’ve completed their home education, you may think that there isn’t really much, if anything at all, that a homeschool convention has to offer you.

 

But I am so happy to say that is actually not the case!

The homeschool convention IS FOR YOU TOO!

 

I myself am, as most of you know, a homeschool graduate. Class of 2013! (Has it REALLY been two years?) I had a wonderful time attending the HEAV Homeschool Convention that year. I remember it really hit me that I was graduating that weekend when I went with my parents to get my cap and gown at graduation registration. What was really special was how involved my parents got to be with my graduation. I mean, after all, they should be! They are the ones who had taught me everything!

I must tell you that if you’re graduating this year, you’re in for a treat! They do a beautiful job at making Graduation Day special for all of the graduates. Congratulations to you if 2015 is your year!

My parents have been attending the HEAV convention for years, but 2013 was actually my first time attending a convention and I loved it! The keynote speakers that year were the Duggars and I thoroughly enjoyed listening to their stories and testimonies. It is such an encouragement when families are willing to share all the wisdom that they have learned through their journey! Last year (2014) I was sad to miss Voddie Baucham speak, but I had the pleasure of welcoming my new baby brother into the world with the rest of my family. This year, I am so incredibly excited to hear Ken Ham speak! My family has really enjoyed watching videos and reading books by him for several years! So this is going to be a treat for us!

I am definitely a homeschooler all the way down to the core, because walking through the exhibit hall with all of those resources and curriculum made me (almost!) as excited as my mom. So needless to say, that’s just one reason I am excited to go back this year.

This year there will be many exciting things for all ages of teens, from beginning high school to graduation. Things like,

 

High School Essay Intensive presented by Andrew Pudewa, director of the Institute for Excellence in Writing. This is a two-hour program where students will learn from Mr. Pudewa on how to write excellent essays.

You can learn more about it here.

 

Photography Team is a great way to sharpen your photography skills. Throughout the weekend you’ll learn different techniques with a focus on event photography. This is geared toward beginner and intermediate students.

You can learn more about it here.

 

Chess Championship is something that my own brothers are especially looking forward to. If you are a fan of chess, this would be a great opportunity to not only play the game with a chance to win a trophy, but also to meet some new friends.

Click here to learn more about it.

 

These are all things that you, as a teen, can enjoy that weekend! There is also much more available that you can check out on the website here. I hope this gets you a little excited about what’s to come.

I hope this can encourage you to look forward to the HEAV convention and to know that they really do try to make it enjoyable for the whole family! Not just the moms.

 ~

I will say one thing more: looking through the convention’s website I was hoping to find more to highlights that would get young adults excited. But then I thought, there is something for us to look forward to (besides plenty of speakers, like Ken Ham). There is always a need for those who are willing to serve. Let’s be those willing people! It’s just three days, but it has the potential to be an enormous blessing to us and others if we are willing to seek out opportunities to help out with this convention. It takes a lot to run an event this big and HEAV needs all hands on deck to pull it off. We as young adults can also go there eager to encourage someone younger than ourselves if the Lord crosses our paths with someone who needs your encouragement. And we ourselves could find friendship and encouragement from someone while we are there.

I hope you will take a look at all that is being offered (and all that you can offer as a volunteer) and get excited about this year’s HEAV Convention! I know I am looking forwards to it! I would love to meet you there!

What are some things you are looking forward to? Please share in the comments! I would love to hear from you!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “HEAV Homeschool Convention… It’s for Teens and Young Adults, too!

  1. Love, love, love! This is an awesome article. Well written and full of info! Can’t wait to take my kids with me! Thanks!

  2. Maiya, great post! Most people don’t realize how much there is for teens and young adults at the convention: all the things you mentioned, plus Apologia’s “Discovering Above by Digging Below,” plus the College Fair, plus tons of things in the Exhibit Hall. I can’t wait!

  3. Pingback: 2015 HEAV Convention family pass GIVEAWAY! | Blessings, Bliss, and Bedlam

Leave a Reply

