Availability is Valuable

I have been so blessed through my life as a daughter at home. One of those blessings has been to see certain circumstances as blessings in disguise…

Availability, believe it or not, has been one of them for me.

availability.valuable

When I started this season in life after my journey as a homeschool student ended, one of the main things God placed on my heart was service. I wanted so dearly to serve those around me: first and most importantly my family. I want to learn under my mother and father’s guidance and constantly be growing in the Lord (serving my family has been one way God is using to draw me closer to Him). I also have a desire to serve others in my community.  Things like babysitting for a family at church or baking cupcakes for my neighbors are a small effort for me that hopefully is a big blessing for others!

Because the Lord has placed service on my heart, He has also placed me in a very unique position of living at home and therefore allowing me more opportunities to serve. Availability is one of my most important assets. I need to constantly remember that when I am discouraged because some personal goal has not been met.  Blessing others, whether it be my sister or my neighbor …. or a complete stranger, is important.  It is an important aspect of my ministry of service and it takes the emphasis OFF of ME and ON to OTHERS. Besides, it truly is more blessed to give than to receive (Acts 20:35).

It is always tempting to lapse into the mindset of self first. Thinking that my own personal dreams and goals “matter, too” so why shouldn’t I focus mainly on them?

They do matter! and if they line up with God’s plan for my life then they will happen, but in God’s timing. People come first. Loving people is more important.

I do want to add that while aspirations are important, if I’m not chasing after God with my whole heart then my goals are not going to line up with God’s divine plan for my life and therefore are either, 1) not going to happen, or, 2) when they do happen might hinder me from fulfilling God’s purpose for my life.

God’s plan for my life is far greater than any material goal of mine. People are more important than that.

I desire, more than anything, to be in the center of God’s will.

People are my goal.

Loving and serving them is my dream.

So this place that I am at in life (available to serve my loved ones and community) is an incredible blessing.

 

“For, brethren, ye have been called unto liberty; only use not liberty for an occasion to the flesh, but by love serve one another.  For all the law is fulfilled in one word, even in this; Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself.” -Galatians 5:13-14

Leave a Reply

