Resurrection Sunday Activities

Resurrection Sunday is just around the corner and that makes this girl very excited! I love this time of year! The weather gets just a little warmer, and the flowers will begin to bloom soon!

It is also a time to remember what Christ did on the cross of Calvary for me so many years ago. This day reminds me that I am a sinner with a steep penalty to pay for the sin in my life and that I am in need of a Savior. I am in awe that Jesus willingly paid that price for me.

“But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” –Romans 5:8

 

ResurrectionSundayActivities

 Well, because it is coming up quickly, I wanted to put together a small list of activities I am planning on doing either on or in these next few weeks leading up to Resurrection Sunday!

 

  • Resurrection Rolls

I did this for the very first time last year and it was so much fun to do with my siblings and some neighborhood friends. It is super easy and has an incredible message behind it… and it tastes pretty yummy, too. You can’t beat that combo!

I have attached a link here to where I originally got the idea. Enjoy!

 

  • Resurrection garden

My family has been doing this for several years and it is one of my favorite activities to do in the weeks leading up to Resurrection Sunday. This is a fun project to put together! The little ones love running around outside on a mission to find rocks for the garden.

If you haven’t made a Resurrection garden before, here’s a quick read with the instructions on how to get started.

 

  • Color coded Easter egg hunt

Genius, right? Unfortunately, I cannot claim the idea for my own. But it definitely makes keeping track of who’s got how many eggs a lot easier during the hunt if each child knows they are only supposed to grab the eggs that are the color they’re assigned to! That way the older ones won’t take the easier-to-find eggs that are placed for the younger hunters.

I might add that this activity doesn’t really have any meaning that will point us to Christ’s resurrection. It is simply a fun way to find candy for Easter. 😉

 

  • Construction paper cross

This is actually the only “new” thing on this list I am doing this year. I think it will be a fun and super easy/quick craft to do. After the kids have cut out a cross from construction paper I will have them write out their favorite Bible verse on it having to do with God’s love toward us. (Examples):

John 3:16

Romans 5:8

Galatians 2:20

1 John 3:1

 

 I think it is so important that little ones know just how much God loves each one of them individually and what Resurrection Sunday is all about: Jesus rising from the dead after being hung up on the cross to die for each of our sins.

It is equally important that, as we carry out these activities for the little ones, we always remember this truth ourselves. God loves us so much that He was willing to send His Son, Jesus Christ, to the world to make a way for us to enjoy eternal life with Him in heaven one day. He died a horrific death for me. Because He loves me. Jesus died so that I might live. I believe that even through these simple activities with the young ones in our life we can be reminded of the sacrifice Christ made on our behalf. And, Lord willing, even help those little lives understand that there is a God who loves them more than they could possibly understand.

Have a very blessed Resurrection Sunday.

…and remember, He is risen!

 

“But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.” –Isaiah 53:5

 

 “For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures;” -1 Corinthians 15:3

Leave a Reply

