Staying Afloat {Mama Monday}

Today I am eager to share with you this blog post written by my very own mama for her “Mama Monday” blog post! I pray that someone is touched by this heartfelt post written for all of those trying to “stay afloat”.

 

~~

Staying.Afloat

We stood there staring at each other in shock and confusion. We were best friends but were beginning to realize that we both had been through difficult, life changing events. It was our first day back in school after going through traumatic crises – only neither of us knew it due to our own grief. It was tenth grade and my step-father had died suddenly. I was shocked she didn’t even know until I discovered that her father had had a massive heart attack the same week. And I didn’t even know because I had been so engulfed in my own grief.

 

This last year was full of blessing for me, for which I am grateful, but it was also full of heartache and several life-altering changes. Frankly, it’s been a tough year.

 

Others in my life have also experienced difficult times lately and I wasn’t there to help them through. I don’t think I would do anything differently but I do regret that some were hurt by my lack of attention. I do wish I could somehow change that.

 

My point? Well, if you’re going through a hard time and someone isn’t there that you thought you could count on, maybe they’re trying to stay afloat too.

 

There is only One Who will always be there for you. While I want to become more and more like Him each day, I fall short. Each and every day.

 

“Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” -1 Peter 5:7

 

One thought on “Staying Afloat {Mama Monday}

Leave a Reply

