Four Things I have Learned through Change

I recently wrote on my blog that my family and I had experienced several months of change last year. Now, obviously everyone goes through change in their lives. We as human beings go through change numerous times throughout our lives. But one of the most important parts of change in a person’s life is what they have learned from it. I wanted to share with you all some of the things that I have learned through these past few months.

Change

  1. God isn’t a genie. He doesn’t grant all of our wishes because, frankly, we are selfish. I am selfish. If we all got what we thought we wanted, well, it would be bad. This seems like a no-brainer, doesn’t it? I’ve known it for a long time, but it was really impressed upon me last year. God won’t always give me what I want, but He will always give me what I need. And you know what? I am overwhelmingly happy because of this fact. Some of my biggest blessings in my life have come about in “I didn’t get what I want, but God gave me what I needed” times in my life. It is just a reminder that we can only see one step at a time (and sometimes not even that) while God can see the entire staircase. This is because God is omniscient … all-knowing!

 

  1. If I am willing to let Him, God will work on my heart. This can be looked at as the next part of #1. I can’t tell you how many times things haven’t turned out how I originally planned or wanted them to go. But after I make a conscious effort to pray for willingness to see God’s will and know that things turned out the way they did for a reason, I feel renewed. He will turn my heart from disappointment and selfishness to willingness and gratefulness. It isn’t instantaneous, but it does come. It takes time and patience (which, really is another thing I have learned. I’m not good by any stretch of the imagination, but I have seen a little evidences of progress).

 

  1. I can’t do it. You’re probably thinking right now, “Well, I could’ve told you that.” Again, this seems like a no-brainer, but in all actuality it isn’t. At least I know for me it most definitely is not. I “forget” all of the time that I am NOT in control. I’m kind of a perfectionist and when I have a list of things I know have to get done, I like to get them done. But one of the biggest things I have learned through these past few months of change is I can’t do anything without the Lord. IF I am able to do something right and well, it is only because of the Lord working through me. He will use me, but I have to be willing and allow Him to use me. In fact, He wants to use all of us, but He also wants us to want Him to want to use us (yikes! I hope you made it through that alright!). That’s why He gave me (and you) a free will. He isn’t going to force us – He will prompt us to do the right thing, but won’t force.

 

  1. God needs to be first in my life. This, I believe, is an ongoing, reoccurring realization in one’s life. I need to remember daily that I need to put God first in my life. I am His. He created me. Therefore He needs to be my number One. This paves the way for joy. Dictonary.com defines joy as the emotion of great delight or happiness caused by something exceptionally good. My something (or in this case, Someone) ‘exceptionally good’ needs to be my Lord. If God is first in my life, He WILL be my cause for great delight. If I have joy in the Lord, because He is first in my life, it will also cause everything else to fall into place:

Jesus

Others

You

But like I said, this is an ongoing decision that I have to make. God could be number one in my life one day and then the next, if I am not aware and intentional about keeping Him there, something else could slip into that sacred place of “first” in my life.

 

Learning isn’t always fun to go through, but I count all of the things I have learned these past few months as true blessings that I would not trade for the world.

 ~

 “I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” –John 15:5

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

