Awaiting Motherhood…

I am no mother yet, still a daughter at home. But every single time I hear my baby brother playing is his bed, all sleepy-eyed with his giant blonde curls all messy from sleeping, waiting to be picked up and brought to his breakfast I can’t wait for that time when I will have my own little one to care for.

 

awaiting.jpg3

 

To me, the best view in the world is that of my siblings playing in the yard, running around chasing each other and squealing. Racing one another from one end of the yard to the other and laughing all along.

The best sound is my mother’s voice as she reads aloud an adventure to a whole army of little children cuddled up together, and I think to myself, “I look forward to the day that I see my children surrounding me as I read to them.”

 

awaiting.jpg2

 

Dirty toes and sticky fingers…

Sandy hair from a day at the beach…

Pile of sopping wet coats and gloves from a morning spent in the snow…

ABC’s and 1,2,3’s and “Jesus Loves Me”…

Watching Disney Princess movies with my little sisters…

Nerf wars with my little brothers…

Leaf piles in the autumn…

Dandelions in the spring…

Winters full of hot cocoa…

Summers full of ice cream sundaes…

These are the things that I love. I cannot wait to spend time doing all of these things with my own children someday when – Lord willing – God blesses me with those precious little lives.

 

awaiting

One thought on “Awaiting Motherhood…

Leave a Reply

