Clothed With Modesty

untitled (3)

“What? Know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.” -1 Corinthians 6:19-20

“Do not let your adornment be merely outward—arranging the hair, wearing gold, or putting on fine apparel— Rather let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God.” -1 Peter 3:3-4

 

I want to start by saying I am writing about modesty today. Yes, it’s a very controversial topic among women today, and honestly, it makes me a bit nervous to write about it. But it has been on my heart ever since I started my blogging journey, so here I go.

I think it only right to, before going straight to the point of modesty, talking about why it is even something that should be discussed or even thought about. The first passage I shared says, “bought with a price”.  When Jesus came to this earth, He came with a purpose: to make a way for us to receive salvation through paying the price for our sin. And that price was death. Thank the Lord that it doesn’t end there, though! Jesus rose from the dead and ascended into heaven. And because He rose from the dead and is alive in heaven, the Holy Spirit dwells within us here on earth – “know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost?” Have you ever thought about that? Your body is a temple in which, when you receive Christ as your Savior, He lives inside of you.

Why did I start out with this? Because I believe modesty is just as much a spiritual issue as it is a physical one. It is a choice that must be made out of respect and love toward Jesus Christ, because when He dwells in us it is our responsibility to represent Him through our actions, attitude, and (physical) appearance. Through those three things, more than anything else, we shine God’s light and love to this world. This is not merely something your grandmother made up. The Bible teaches us women to respect ourselves through dressing modestly.

“Likewise also that women should adorn themselves in respectable apparel, with modesty and self-control…” -1 Timothy 2:9a

 

I want to go a step farther and say that while we as women should do this out of respect for ourselves and our heavenly Father, we should also do it for the men around us. I have been told growing up that guys think completely different than girls do. That’s a fact of life that we are going to have to accept. One of the examples older women mentors have given is the saying, “Give them an inch and they will go a mile,” for certain areas on us ladies, and because of that I have tried to learn and respect that and avoid short/low clothing items.

I know the world says that it is not your problem or responsibility to respect others, especially the men you are around, through the way you dress. But if you desire to know the truth about what the Lord has taught us women, it says so clearly 1 Peter 3 and 1 Timothy 2 how God views modesty and wants His daughters to dress.

Modesty is so much more than a fashion statement. It is not meant to make us women feel like we must cover from head to toe and be ashamed. Modesty is meant to show the world that we cherish our relationship with Christ and respect ourselves. Below are some of my favorite quotes concerning modesty:

  e54942ca25abc525be7acc8ecf2fdddd

 a62c6cad3d32d8b6467186a54f9fd002

 

835cd30908e29370db86cf17db40d59f

That last quote hits on what I believe to be the single most important reason for modesty, which is representation of Jesus Christ. I, as a woman of God, feel it my duty to live modestly because of my relationship with the One who lives in me. Relationship with God comes first. All other things follow, including modesty.

~

Before I close, I wanted to share with you some of my own personal standards of dress for modesty. I realize that modesty will, to a degree, look different to everyone. But I know that I enjoy reading other ladies’ convictions and beliefs about what God has laid on their hearts concerning modesty, so I thought I would share my own.

First off, I believe modesty begins before dress. It is about attitude and how I carry myself. Truly, it begins in the heart. It begins with love and sacrifice for my God and for the people around me, especially men.

As far as bottoms/pants/skirts go, I love wearing all different types. Jeans, shorts, capris, skirts, and dresses. But I have a rule that they must come to knee length. In fact, I try to make my dresses come down a little lower, because when I sit or bend over the back of my dress will ride further up. I do have a few dresses that are a little shorter than I would like, so I usually pair them up with a set of leggings. For jeans, I try to steer clear of skinny (or anything else that is tighter than that), because I feel most are deigned to fit too tightly. I do love a good pair of straight-legged or boot-cut, though!

For tops, something that’s too low can almost always be fixed with an undershirt. Also, it is a good practice for me to do hand-over-top-of-shirt when bending over, just to be safe. If something is sleeveless or even strapless, I will wear a jacket, sweater, or some sort of cover-up to take care of bare arms. And I have collected a lot over the years, so I have a good selection.

Like I said before, these are a few of my personal preferences and convictions. Not standards I expect all young ladies to follow. I believe each one of us should lay this, just like anything else, in God’s hands and let Him guide us in our modesty journey.

If you are on Pinterest, please feel free to follow my board, “Made In His Image“. I share quotes on not just modesty, but being a godly woman.

2 thoughts on “Clothed With Modesty

  1. Yes, even thought the modesty topic can be controversial, the majority of blog readers respond positively. Besides, that’s the point of a blog- to encourage others to grow and challenge their convictions.!

Leave a Reply

