Wrestling with Discontentment

untitled

“Happiness isn’t something that depends on our surroundings, it’s something we make inside ourselves.” -Corrie ten Boom

This was so timely. I was starting to feel discontentment and selfishness when God showed me this quote. It was like He was telling me, “No, Maiya. You’re time will come. But you have to wait on my timing, not your own. I know what’s best, so wait on Me.” Let me tell you, when the Lord is trying to snap you out of something He will get your attention. And He got mine.

The Lord truly knows what He is doing, and when I become sad and discontent, really what’s happening is I’m not trusting in His timing and plan. Who am I to doubt the Almighty? He has brought so many happy memories and blessings into my life so far, why should I doubt He won’t give me more happy memories and blessings all my life, if I’m faithful to Him and His timing? He has not always given me what I wanted – thank you, Jesus – but He has given me something better… what I’ve needed. He has given me a wonderful life. One I could not make up in my own mind even if I tried. Writing this makes me think of another quote I really like,

 

“God has promised to supply all our needs. What we don’t have now we don’t need now.” – Elisabeth Elliot

I am beyond thankful for reminders like these because I have a really bad tendency to feel discontent every once in a while. I sometimes think to myself, “Wow, I really wish that would happen in my life,” or, “I can’t wait for that time in my life.”  Really, God knows exactly what He is doing and doesn’t need little ol’ me to give Him “advice” as to how to run my life, or when to give me things. He is far more knowledgeable about what is right for me now and what is right for me later on than I could ever hope to be; because I, just like every other person in the world, am pretty selfish. If we had it our way, we would give ourselves everything we wanted right when we wanted it. We wouldn’t be able to use anything to the potential God had purposed because we had not taken the time God provides for us to prepare our hearts. There is a reason we don’t have that thing we want right now: God knows we aren’t ready for it. But in His perfect time, He will bless us with more than we could ask for.

It seems that whenever everything is running smoothly, some tiny little drop of sadness or discontentment will find its way toward me and ruin the moment. That is when I need to remember that being happy is a matter of how you handle things in your heart and mind, and does not depend on your surroundings. Life will not be sunshine and rainbows, no matter how nice those words sound and we need to be prepared for curveballs and face them with determination that, through the Lord, “all things are possible” (Phil. 4:13) – even handling discontentment. Through godliness and through the Lord’s strength, it is possible.

“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths.” – Proverbs 3:5-6

 

Leave a Reply

