My Book Club Journey

Book Club

Today I wrapped up my very first book club! It was a lot of fun, and I think/hope my girls enjoyed it, too!

We read Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. If you haven’t read this book yet, I cannot stress enough how much I think you should drop every other book you are reading and pick up Little Women. It’s about four young girls – Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy – growing up in the Civil War era in Concord, Massachusetts. L.M. Alcott does such a wonderful job at sharing the girl’s struggles and joys that you laugh and cry right along with them. I have read the book three times myself and pick up some new “lesson” each time. I know it’s a fictional book, but there are a lot of great things to learn from it, as well as just a fun book to read. I highly recommend it to girls of any age.

I started this book club in September 2013 as a way for me to not only get to know and hopefully be an encouragement to other girls in my area, but also share my love of reading with girls who are coming up behind me. I wanted to invest love: my love to the girls, and a love of reading. This was a fun way to do just that. So when I picked out Little Women I got started on finding a book study to go along with it. If you are interested, I found this book study at Currclick.

Book Club4

I divided it up into a 15-week study where my girls and I read about 3 chapters a week, did a creative writing assignment, and had vocabulary words to do activities with.

I really loved getting creative to put my own personal touch to it. I would bake a goodie and light a candle. If you have an older girls book club, you could even serve coffee if you wanted!

I added tabs to keep track of different parts of the study:

Book Club3

And kept lots of quotes on hand, which I do quite often. I love words. So every time I read anything pen and paper are always found to write down anything that I really enjoyed:

Book Club2

Some of my favorites were:

“When you feel discontent think over your blessings, and be grateful.”

-Marmee

“The great charm of all power is modesty.”

-Marmee

“Wealth is certainly a most desirable thing; but poverty has its sunny side, and one of the sweetest uses of adversity, is the genuine satisfaction which comes from hearty word of head and hand”

Louisa May Alcott

“Love is the only thing we can carry with us when we go.”

-Beth

“How good she is to me! What do girls do who haven’t any mothers to help them though their troubles?”

-Jo

I do think that families are the most beautiful things in all the world!”

-Jo

Lessons in patience were so sweetly taught her, that she could not fail to learn them; charity for all, the lovely spirit that can forgive and truly forgets unkindness, the loyalty to duty that makes the hardest easy, and the sincere faith that fears nothing, but trusts undoubtingly.”

-Louisa May Alcott

“I want to be above the little meannesses, and follies, and faults that spoil so many women. I do my best, and hope in time to be what mother is.”

-Amy

A book club is a great way to spend time with others, get to know them, and have a good time. And for young women, like myself, it is an excellent way to serve the younger girls in our community.

I hope you have enjoyed this post! And if you have done, are doing, or plan to do a book club, I would love to hear from you! What did you read? What were your favorite quotes?

One thought on “My Book Club Journey

  1. Pingback: Practicing Hospitality as a Young {unmarried} Woman | Blessings, Bliss, and Bedlam

Leave a Reply

