A Season of Thankfulness (Day One)

untitled

The past few days I have been trying to think of something to write about. I have some topics I would like to write on, but nothing was coming to me and nothing felt quite right. Well, last night I started writing something on thankfulness – and it actually wasn’t even for my blog. It was for something I wanted to share on my Facebook wall. But as I was finishing it up, I thought it was something rather perfect to share here on my blog. So here I go.

While being thankful is something we should be all year round, I really like that November has become a whole month dedicated to reflecting on the things we are thankful for. Looking at our blessings is a blessing in itself. It forces us to realize just how much we really have. And I have so much to be thankful for.

On Facebook, people like to write a status a day all through the month of November on something they are thankful for each day. I personally think that is a really neat idea, however I haven’t participated in it. I thought it would be cool to do a little twist on things and only do eleven days leading up to that wonderful day of Thanksgiving. Each day write about people I am thankful for (my family) and why.

Day One:

November 17, 2013:

When giving thanks, I must always begin with my Heavenly Father. Without Him there is nothing else. And through Him there is everything good, and perfect, and wonderful. I am thankful for His faithfulness, goodness, and love. I am thankful that this past year God did not allow me to go down the path I thought was for me – studying away at college. But instead, living at home, allowing me the privilege of investing in my siblings’ lives, continuing to learn from my wonderful parents, and blessing me with the jobs of piano teacher and babysitter for a bit of money. There are so many ministry opportunities I have been able to take hold of because of where I am, where God has placed me in life. I am thankful that He can see the big picture. My life is planned out by a beautiful, creative God. And He is always leading me – in every tiny detail – toward my future. And for me, that is comforting. I am a huge planner. And I need to know the whole picture. But He is patient with me and helps me release that “need”. And I am thankful for that.

Furthermore, I am thankful that I have a God who loves little ole me – a sinner who fails daily – more than all of His other creations. More than the tall, majestic mountains. More than the enormous, innumerable stars in the sky that sing out praises to His glorious name. I am thankful that I have a God who loved me so much that He was willing to give His one and only Son, Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior, to die for MY sins. Me. A sinner who fails daily. What a love. What a beautiful, unending, undeserved love. Thank you, Lord.

Jesus loves me, this I know. For the Bible tells me so.

Leave a Reply

