Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

I really enjoy making things homemade, so when I found a good dishwasher detergent recipe I liked, I decided to go ahead and try making some myself. It was super easy!

Image

Here is the recipe:

1 box Borax

1 box Washing soda

3 cups Epsom salt

25 packets of Lemonade

I tweaked the recipe a little bit. I figured making all of that would be too much, so I cut it in half. This is what I did:

1/2 box Borax

1/2 box Washing soda

1 1/2 cups Epsom salt

5 packets of Lemonade (I used the Kool-Aid packets)

After it was all mixed up, I put it in a storage container I bought at Wal-Mart. (The “one scoop” is a Tablespoon.)

Blog.Dish.jpg2

*Note: In the picture it looks like the container is only half full, but it’s not.

I was actually kind of surprised at how easy it was, and pretty cheap too. The Borax and washing soda will last me two batches, the Epsom salt will last several, so the only thing I have to buy each time is Lemonade packets. And I bought five packets for about a dollar, so that’s nice! So far, so good with using the detergent and I’m pretty sure it will last us a while – I use a one tablespoon scoop for each load. I’ve noticed it does get a little clumpy because of the lemonade, but it hasn’t affected anything.

If you have tried it, or are going to, tell me what you think! I hope it saves you a little money and works well for you, too!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

Leave a Reply

