When God Isn’t Leading You to College

Image

 

What are you going to do now?

 

When your answer to this question is NOT the typical reply that you are going to the University of Fill-in-the-Blank, you can feel quite alone even though you know God isn’t leading you in that direction.

 

But you’re not alone.

 

When I felt God leading me away from the college choice, I did feel alone. I had many questions, especially about what I was going to do now. For the past several chapters of my life I have had my school work to focus on, as well as a few extra curricular activities. Now that it was over and done with, I wasn’t sure what on earth was next, if not college. I wasn’t sure what the big picture was, but God was trying to teach me to let go of that need to see the big picture. I have learned that this time in life – not being sure what’s next – is a “walk of faith” that God is bringing me through to teach me to lean entirely on Him and not the idea I have in my head. (2 Cor. 5:7) 

 

Lots of prayer and meditating on Scripture went into figuring out that God has called me to a life at home. I asked that God would give me guidance, contentment, and comfort through this decision and next season of life, and I was reminded of Jeremiah 29:11

 

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to

 prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (NIV)

 

 

God has a wonderful, unique plan for me through this stay-at-home time in my life. Trusting in the Lord’s will is the best thing a follower of Christ can do. I have found this time while I am at home that God is preparing me for my future family. Right now, during my singleness and time spent not in college classes, is the time God is helping me practice practical ways to serve my family. Things like helping my mom with homeschooling my siblings (homeschooling is something that is near and dear to my heart) along with helping with the kitchen tasks of baking and cooking. Also, I have turned to other ministry opportunities, like volunteering and organizing clubs for younger girls that are in my area/community. Having a ministry mindset is something my parents encourage through family first and also community. I hope and pray that eventually God will open doors for travel opportunities and over-seas mission trips.

 

 

My mother has shared with me that when the responsibility of a home comes, when babies and husband need our attention, there will not be nearly as much time to really drink in God’s Word.  NOW, during this incredibly unique time when I am single and at home is a precious gift of an opportunity to focus on Him and His Word.

 

Two quick read books that I found encouraging for the stay-at-home daughter are:

 

Single Girl by Ashley Schnarr

No More Wasted Years by Olivia Brodock 

2 thoughts on “When God Isn’t Leading You to College

Leave a Reply

